Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

On May 13, 2009 IC3’s Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) was established in an official event attended by authorities, members of the Board of Trustees and renowned scientists. This event, part of a scientific seminar called “Climate Change: New challenges for the 21st century”, was a resounding success and took place at the headquarters of the Royal Academy of Science and Arts of Barcelona. As a result of a private meeting held at IC3’s headquarters, the first SAB report was written.

The SAB is a committee of experts at the service of the Institute, representing the most renowned scientists in the field worldwide. Its main task is to inform the Board of Trustees and the Director about the definition of new research lines and strategies, and also about the best ways to recruit talent and increase the Institute’s scientific strength. The Board will also conduct regular evaluations of all scientific activities and results generated within the Institute, which will serve as the guidelines to follow in meeting excellence criteria and fulfilling the Institute’s scientific and educational mission.

Daniel R. Cayan, Co-President of the SAB

Director of the Climate Research Division, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego (USA) and Researcher in the Water Resources Division of the US Geological Survey. Expert on regional climate change, member of several international panels and steering committees on climate observation and monitoring, as well as contributing author of IPCC's Fourth Assessment Report (AR4) in Working Group I (WGI) (2007).

Axel TimmermannAxel Timmermann, Co-President of the SAB

Associate Professor, Department of Oceanography, University of Hawaii at Manoa, Honolulu (Hawaii, USA). Chair of the International CLIVAR Pacific Panel for paleoclimate modeling and theoretical climate dynamics. Expert on paleoclimate modeling and theoretical climate dynamics.

Mercedes PascualMercedes Pascual

Researcher at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, visiting professor of the Center for the Study of Complex Systems at the Santa Fe Institute (USA), as well as assistant professor of the Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Department in the University of Michigan. She is an expert in modeling climate forcing systems as well as in complex systems dynamics.

Tim PalmerTim Palmer

Director of the Probability Forecasting and Diagnostics Division of the European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF), UK. Co-chair of the Scientific Steering Group of the World Climate Research Programme’s Climate Variability and Predictability (CLIVAR) project. He has been leading author in the IPCC’s Third and Fourth Assessment Reports, AR3 and AR4 (2001 and 2007, respectively), and winner of the American Meteorological Society’s Charney Award, as well as the Buchan Prize from the Royal Meteorological Society. He is an expert on seasonal climate prediction and probabilistic climate modeling.

Filippo GiorgiFilippo Giorgi

Director of the Physics of Weather and Climate Section and International Coordinator of scientific programs at the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics - ICTP - (Trieste, Italy). He is also vice-chairman of IPCC's WGI. He is an expert in regional climate models and future scenario projections.

Eystein JansenEystein Jansen

Scientific Director of the Bjerknes Center for Climate Research and Head of the Department of Earth Sciences at the University of Bergen (Norway). He is co-chairman of the PAGES/CLIVAR Intersection Working Group and member of the PAGES Scientific Steering Committee, as well as coordinator and leading author of the paleoclimate chapter of IPCC's AR4 (2007). He is an expert in paleoclimate science.

James L. Kinter IIIJames L. Kinter III

Director of the Center for Ocean-Land-Atmosphere Studies (COLA) and associate professor of the Climate Dynamics Ph.D. program in the School of Computational Sciences at George Mason University (USA). Expert in atmospheric models, tropical climatology and climate teleconnections at mid-latitudes.

Andrew DobsonAndrew P. Dobson

Professor of the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at Princeton University (USA). Expert on climate impact over ecosystems, theoretical ecology and biodiversity.

Philip FearnsidePhilip M. Fearnside

Professor in the Department of Ecology at the National Institute for Research in the Amazon (INPA) in Manaus (Brazil), and member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences. He has been awarded Brazil’s National Ecology Prize, the United Nations Global 500 Award, and the Conrad Wessel and Chico Mendes prizes. In 2006, Thomson-ISI identified him as the world's second most-cited author on the subject of global warming. He is an expert on deforestation’s effects on the carbon cycle, as well as on the interactions between climate change and the socio-economic system.

Eduardo ZoritaEduardo Zorita
Senior Scientist at the GKSS Research Center’s Institute of Coastal Research (Germany). He is a renowned expert on paleoclimate science, regional climate dynamics and climate theory.

Stephen GriffiesStephen M. Griffies

Researcher at the Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration in Princeton (USA). He is an expert on the climate influence of ocean dynamics, on the parameterization of ocean processes in climate models, as well as on the study of climate predictability in interannual to interdecadal timeframes.

Wallace BroeckerWallace S. Broecker

Newberry Professor at the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, and member of the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at Columbia University, New York (USA). He is an expert on climate and climate change modulation of ocean processes by means of isotopes and on reconstructions of past ocean circulation. He first described and defined thermohaline circulation and the conveyor belt.

Jürg Luterbacher
Jürg Luterbacher

Associate Professor, Researcher and Project Coordinator of the Geography Institute at the University of Bern (Switzerland). He is an expert in paleoclimatology, past climate change, climate extremes and its impacts on society and environment, climate dynamics and synoptic climatology.

SAB members ensure IC3’s excellence. The Board includes five leading IPCC authors or coordinators, six directors of international research centers, four members of leading research panels and five research prize winners.